BusinessObjects Board

Document a universe using Excel and the Designer SDK

Thanks Dave, it did work to run Designer as the local administrator once first. After that, I could run the Excel macro just fine under my “non-administrator” account that security at our company prefers. Have a :cookie:

Duane,

Is there a copy of the universe documentor for v4.1?? If so please let me know where I can get it… :slight_smile:

Charles Killam :us: (BOB member since 2003-04-24)

Charles, long time no see. :slight_smile:

As mentioned only a couple of posts ago, the utility should work fine against .UNV universes in 4.1 as long as you update the library references. Simply open the macro, select Tools and then References and make sure the proper version of the BOBJ library files are marked.

Dave Rathbun :us: (BOB member since 2002-06-06)

Well, the coding part has always been my weakness. Where do I find the designer object library?? I am not a rocket scientist in this space:)
Sorry about the DUH factor:) Thanks

Well, when I get the macro open and go to Tool, the reference choice is grayed out?? :frowning: BUMMER…

I downloaded the XIR2 version from the first post and updated the library reference to BI4.0. I ran it against a simple BI4 universe and it seemed to work, so I am attaching it here on this post.
Document a Universe BI4.zip (45.0 KB)

where is the dll located for the BO 14 library…I’m missing the reference in my VBA but can’t seem to find the right dll…

rpatel18 (BOB member since 2007-08-14)

ok, I think I found it now but now I’m getting this error:

Faiulure in DocumentUniverse()
Runtime error ‘430’ class does not support Automation or does not support expected interface

rpatel18 (BOB member since 2007-08-14)

This is sometimes fixed by running Designer at least once as Administrator on your computer.

I’m getting this error too and running Designer as Administrator didn’t fix it. Other ideas?

2spots :us: (BOB member since 2008-07-29)

Thanks Dave,