BusinessObjects Board

Where's the beef?

I’m a SysAdmin with no BO experience, but was handed this project to take for action.

When I log into OpenView, I don’t see much of anything. I’m not even prompted to log in… I don’t see a place to upload documents or anything.

How do I configure this?

harrodcd (BOB member since 2005-10-12)

Business Objects documents are typically “uploaded”/published to the repository using the application “Business Objects Reporter”.

Or you will have to login to WebIntelligence (not OpenView?) and depending on your rights (assigned via Business Objects Supervisor) you will be able to create/edit documents, see Corporate Documents, etc.

You might not have to sign in, because whoever installed Business Objects in the first place migth have configured it to use Windows NT Authentication, which should be written up in some documentation hopefully.

If you have been thrown into such a project without any experience or training with Business Objects I honestly wish you good luck.

P.S.:
You might consider a more meaningful topic title…

Andreas :de: (BOB member since 2002-06-20)

But the topic-starter did find the B :mrgreen: B forum…
and that is a good way to start!

Tiny :netherlands: (BOB member since 2004-11-10)

Thanks for the quick reply =]

It’s hard finding any documentation or training manuals on 5.6.1

This is what I do know.

A 4.x version is installed somewhere on the network and is currently in use.

I was tasked to get 5.6.1 working on a separate server, but connect it to the same database. Then get the “client” on a separate machine to talk to the server. That took me awhile to figure out I had to copy the bomain.key file to LocData to get the universes to populate my list on the client, as I don’t have any documentation.

So this entire task has been confusing.

Now I’m attempting to use Supervisor to configure users – which I hope will fix the web-based portion of this program.