BusinessObjects Board

Scheduling one report to multiple users.

Hi folks, I am very new to the BO world and would like to ask if what we are trying to do is possible. Today we have over 50 scheduled reports that are sent to different users, with an excel attachment that is tailored to a specific region. So we have reports for west, east, south, etc, so that only the users from each of those regions receive the data accordingly. It is a nightmare to manage it however, because when one fails, we need to make changes to each one individually.

So my question is, is it possible to shrink all the reports to 1, and have a standard email that sends different data depending on who the user is, instead of having one scheduled report for each?

Thank you

530529 (BOB member since 2017-01-16)

Yes. Look at Publications.

APOS also have a tool that does this very nattily.

Damocles :uk: (BOB member since 2006-10-05)

Damocles - can you elaborate on where to find Publications?

Is it functionality that has to be enabled at the server level?

Thanks

KelleyHux :us: (BOB member since 2002-07-05)

[Moderator note - moved to the XI Scheduler forum]

Nick Daniels :uk: (BOB member since 2002-08-15)

Thank you Damocles for your time. From what I read online, Publications is going to do exactly what I need. Since the reports are being generated using a custom sql statement, I just need to find a way to pass the dynamic values into the where clause of the query to generate different data for each one of the users.

If you’re doing a lot of this sort of thing, http://www.apos.com/content/apos-publisher is worth a look.

Damocles :uk: (BOB member since 2006-10-05)

There are two ways to pass the dynamic values in:

1. If the people you’re sending the report to are also BO users, then you can set up Profiles to handle this.