BusinessObjects Board

logs & arguments

I’m new to metadata integrator. I’ve recently installed v12.1.1.1 on the same box as my CMS which is also XI rel3.1. However the link on the console doesn’t work, it keeps saying “Could not authenticate using the provided operating system credentials” but when i run on a command line (cmsCollector.cmd “MetadataIntegrator_1” -Xms128m -Xmx512m NO), it seems to work. I say this loosely because despite the dos output saying all is completed, it’s taking a long time to now view the impact and lineage report through the DS console. I also have a number of other questions:

• How can I capture the log
  • why won’t it run through the console
  • what other arguments (if any) can I use. For example can I run it against a particular universe.

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

sajohal (BOB member since 2008-04-29)

as the error inidcates “Could not authenticate using the provided operating system credentials” the user logon information is missing for the program obejct, the CMS Program Created by Data Services for Metadata Integrator will be created without logon info, to add that do the following

1 - you can set this at CMS level for all program objects, go the CMC Home -> Select Applications, from the list of apps select CMC, from the Action menu select Program Obejct Rigts and enter the default login to use to run the program

2- you can set this at Metadata Integrator program object, double click on the Metadata Integrator configurtion in Data Services folder in CMC, expand the schedule node enter the logon info

Note - the login user and password is your system login (windows) and password not BOE user login

• How can I capture the log
    The log will be generated in the output server, once the job completes, click on the run date, it will open the log file

• why won’t it run through the console
    set the logon info as mentioned above, it will run