BusinessObjects Board

Beginner's Question

Hi Everyone, I’m very new to Web Intelligence and trying to understand it.

one question I would like to ask if it is possible to only create a universe with Database tables and do not define Classes / Objects .

Then in the reports, use the “Use Custom Query Script” option to write queries yourself directly to the tables defined in universe?

is it possible? what is the drawback and limitations of this approach?

Thank you very much

WebiLearner (BOB member since 2020-08-21)

Welcome to B:bob:B!

No, this is not possible.

A custom query (its structure) used in a WebI report needs to match the universe objects (their data types, their order) used in the query panel when a query is created. So there is a need to have universe objects.

Marek Chladny :slovakia: (BOB member since 2003-11-27)

why using a Universe if you do not want/need a Universe ?

create a connection to your DB in BO Server and use that with a WebI Freehand SQL

n8aktiv :de: (BOB member since 2018-12-29)

Thanks for the reply.

I thought that query builder translates the universe objects to the tables/fields defined behind the scene.

so you create query in query panel using Universe Objects, and behind the scene SQL is generated that targets/maps to the actual tables/columns.

in that case, can i not use the SQL targeting to those tables/columns by passing the translation from Universe Classes/Objects to Tables/Columns?

Hi, yes that is what I’m trying to understand if it is necessary to create the universe or you can just write queries against relational database (in my case, it is Azure SQL DB)

I was reading about the Freehand SQL but not very sure about its limitations.
are there any limitation on using freehand SQL?

Say, I have some reports that are already built locally against SQL database.
(so SQL queries are already available)

we are migrating local SQL database to Azure, and will use Webi to generate same reports from Azure SQL database.