BusinessObjects Board

AL_HISTORY, AL_HISTORY_INFO and AL_STATISTICS table cleanup

Greetings!

Disclaimer: I am a Database Administrator so please forgive me if I use the wrong terminology.
We have been searching this forum and the web for the last couple days trying to find a recent answer;
I apologize if I am asking a question that has already been asked…

About six months ago we upgraded from Data Integrator (32bit) to Data Services 4 (64bit).
Migrated might be a better term because we did a clean parallel installation on new
hardware and on a new database server.

During the day we have eight looping workflows that process incoming transactions
all day, one for each subject area in our marts. In the past these jobs were stopped
each night for about two hours and then restarted. A little over a month ago we
switched those jobs over to only restart once a week.

We noticed that our Data Services schema in Oracle was extending quite often,
especially in the last month, where it has extended by over 50GB.
Analyzing the tables in the schema revealed that we had added 250 million rows
to the AL_STATISTICS table in 30 days. We had our retention set to 90 days
at the time. When we found this, the AL_STATISTICS contained 614 million rows,
had 6 million rows that were older than 90 days and had orphaned records that
did not have corresponding records in the AL_HISTORY table.

Last night we took Data Services offline and removed all but the last 30 days worth
of valid records in those two tables. We did set the retention down to 30 days in the
GUI last night as well.

A check this morning revealed that we are adding over 10k rows to the AL_STATISTICS
table every few seconds.

We are trying to get an idea of what may have changed in our migration from
Data Integrator to Data Services… we suspect that we must have something
configured different on the server as far as logging levels go, since most of
the actual workflows have not significantly changed between versions.